Men’s Track and Field Tabbed 10th in SAC Preseason Poll; Horning and Anderson Named to Preseason Watch List

Men’s Track and Field Tabbed 10th in SAC Preseason Poll; Horning and Anderson Named to Preseason Watch List

ROCK HILL, S.C. – Queens has been picked to win the 2019 South Atlantic Conference Men's Outdoor Track & Field Championship, as announced by the league office on Monday. The Royals picked up 10 first place votes and received 110 points from the League's head coaches.

Lenoir-Rhyne placed second in the poll with one first place vote and 97 points. Wingate took the No. 3 spot with 92 points, while Carson-Newman came in fourth with 87 points. Catawba rounded out the top five with 64 points.

Tusculum landed at the No. 6 spot with 62 points and at No. 7 was Coker with 59 points. Lincoln Memorial earned 38 points to come in at No. 8, while Newberry finished at No. 9 with 36 points. Anderson and Mars Hill picked up 35 points each to earn a tie at No. 10.

The 2019 SAC Outdoor Track and Field Championships will take place on April 18-20 at the Irwin Belk Track on the campus of Lenoir-Rhyne University in Hickory, N.C.

2019 Men's Outdoor Track and Field Preseason Poll

RANK SCHOOL (first-place votes) TOTAL
1. Queens (10) 110
2. Lenoir-Rhyne (1) 97
3. Wingate 92
4. Carson-Newman 87
5. Catawba 64
6. Tusculum 62
7. Coker 59
8. Lincoln Memorial 38
9. Newberry 36
T-10. Mars Hill 35
T-10. Anderson 35

Preseason South Atlantic Conference Watch List
Sprints: Jordan Anderson
Distance: Logan Horning

Sprints: Devon Moore
Distance: Luke Greer
Field: Kristofer Potts-Howard

Sprints: Darius Turner
Distance: Tom Joyce
Field: Terrell Johnson

Sprints: Sage Lilly
Distance: Brandon Mullins
Field: Malik Tarbell

Sprints: PJ Lotharp
Distance: Josh Adkins
Field: Cole Henderson

Lincoln Memorial
Sprints: Jaeden Douglass
Distance: Brandon Vaughn
Field: Kyle Nabe

Mars Hill
Sprints: Tyrize Claude
Distance: Noah Allison
Field: Tyler Holloway

Sprints: James Glenn
Distance: Quinn Wilson
Throws: Kayshon Mitchell

Sprints: Kevin Harrison
Distance: Daniel Wallis
Field: Martin Knauer

Sprints: Widchard Guervil
Distance: Jackson Beason
Field: Guillaume Devries

Sprints: Michael Carson
Distance: Micah Kipchumba
Field: Isaiah Kyle