Five Trojans Honored by the South Atlantic Conference

Five Trojans Honored by the South Atlantic Conference

ROCK HILL, S.C. - Anderson University men's soccer placed four on the all-conference teams, as graduate student Lars Kaula, junior Ryan Tyrer and sophomore Lucas Mostajo earned second-team honors while junior teammate Jhon Vaca was placed on the honorable mention team, announced by the league office on Thursday.

Kaula scored a team-leading five goals while recording one assist. The Homburg, Germany native has started in 15 of the 16 matches played this season logging 1200 minutes.

Elyashiv led the conference in save % (.831) and Goal Against Average (.810). The sophomore keeper recorded 64 games with 4 shutouts.

Tyrer and Mostajo anchored the backline which only allowed 12 goals during regular season action including five shutouts. Tyrer started all 16 matches playing over 1500 minutes while Mostajo posted 14 starts and nearly 1300 minutes of action.

Vaca controlled the midfield while scoring three goals and recording three assists. The Madrid, Spain native took 21 shots with 10 coming on goal.

As a team, Anderson was the recipient of the Stat Champions for the Team Goals Against Average (.750).

Anderson will meet up with No.1 Lenoir-Rhyne in the semifinals on Friday. Kick-off is scheduled for 4:30 p.m. at Rock Hill's Manchester Meadows.

 2018 South Atlantic Conference Men's Soccer All-Conference

First Team

F – Edmundo Robinson, Queens 

F – Victor Peres, Lincoln Memorial

F – Alberto Morales, Queens 

F – Tobias Solem Karlsen, Carson-Newman

MF – Felipe De Sousa, Lincoln Memorial

MF – Ignacio De goya, Lenoir-Rhyne

MF – Victor Cascon, Lenoir-Rhyne

MF – Elliot Cutts, Wingate

D – Marcos Enriquez, Lenoir-Rhyne

D – Pedro Oliveira, Queens

D – Alan Brandao, Lincoln Memorial

D – Michael Hornsby, Queens

GK – Pablo Jara, Wingate and Gal Elyashiv, Anderson

Second Team

F – Ayuk Tambe, Tusculum

F – Lars Kaula, Anderson 

F – Nate Evans, Wingate

F – Cameron Saul, Lenoir-Rhyne

MF – Liam Doyle, Queens 

MF – Carles Montoliu Lobo, Lenoir-Rhyne

MF – Fabian Proesch, Tusculum

MF – Greg Evans, Carson-Newman

D – Georgios Charkoutsakis, Tusculum

D – Jakob Sellhed, Wingate

D – Lucas Mostajo, Anderson 

D – Ryan Tyrer, Anderson 

GK – Sebastian Kalk, Queens 

Honorable Mention
F – Soren Nygaard, Wingate

F – Sebastian Bertilsson, Mars Hill

F – Jacob Simonis, Coker

F – Ibrahim Nadir, Newberry

MF – Jhon Vaca, Anderson 

MF – Florian Simon, Lenoir-Rhyne

MF – Edgar Cervantes, Tusculum

MF – Fabrizio Bucco, Newberry

D – Mathias Grimstad, Tusculum

D – Oscar Mitchell, Mars Hill

D – Samuel Jenkins, Carson-Newman

D – Jeppe Christensen, Mars Hill

GK – Caleb Cothrin, Lincoln Memorial

Offensive Player of the Year

Edmundo Robinson, Queens

Defensive Player of the Year

Marcos Enriquez, Lenoir-Rhyne

Freshman of the Year

Carles Montoliu Lobo, Lenoir-Rhyne

Coach of the Year

Jack Winter, Lenoir-Rhyne

Fair Play Award


Stat Champions

Goals per Match: Victor Perez, Lincoln Memorial | .92

Points per Match: Victor Perez, Lincoln Memorial | 2.08

Assists per Match: Felipe de Sousa, Lincoln Memorial | 0.54

Goals Against Average: Gal Elyashiv, Anderson | .800

Save Percentage: Gal Elyashiv, Anderson | .824

Shutouts: Alejandro Quiriti, Tusculum | 8

Team Points per Match: Queens | 7

Team Goals per Match: Queens | 2.67

Team Assists per Match: Queens | 1.67

Team Shutouts: Tusculum | 8

Team Goals Against Average: Anderson | .750

Team Winning Percentage: Lenoir-Rhyne | .700