Trojan Men’s and Women’s Golf Set to Host AU Invitational

Trojan Men’s and Women’s Golf Set to Host AU Invitational

ANDERSON, S.C. – The Anderson University men's and women's golf teams are set to host the AU Invitational, Monday and Tuesday at Cobb's Glen Country Club in Anderson, S.C.

The men's tournament will feature the host Trojans along with Bob Jones University, Cape Fear Community College, Emmanuel, Southern Wesleyan, Spartanburg Methodist and a pair of teams from Erskine rounding out the eight-team field. The course will consist of a par-72, 6,961-yard layout, with the men teeing off at the first hole, Monday at 8:30 a.m.

Tuesday's final round will have a shotgun start.

The Anderson men's squad was unable overcome a three-stroke deficit following last year's opening round and finished second, just one shot off the pace set by Georgia Southwestern. Bob Jones University finished third, five strokes behind the Trojans. Brevard claimed fourth place, while Erskine finished in fifth place. Spartanburg Methodist claimed sixth and Emmanuel was seventh.

Brevard's Craig Stephen won the individual title last year by four shots over AU's Forrest Fowler, Bob Jones' Drew Buffaloe and GSW's Nix Duncan.

Cal Brock finished fifth a year ago, while Colt Martin finished in a tie for eighth. Jake Miller, Grayson Bell and Cole Jefferys all shared 10th place, while Brady Cox finished in a tie for 24th. David Monroe finished tied for 30th and Drake McAlister shared 38th place.

The Trojan men finished fourth two years ago after winning the 2015 AU Invitational by four shots over Lenoir-Rhyne. With that win, the Trojans became the first Black and Gold squad to capture the AU Invitational team title since former standout and current AU assistant coach Denton Moore led AU to the 2003 title. AU claimed seventh place four years ago and ninth in 2013.

The women's nine-team event will consist of the host Trojans alongside teams from Belmont Abbey, Catawba, Converse, Emmanuel, Erskine, King, Southern Wesleyan, Spartanburg Methodist and two individuals from Bob Jones. The ladies' layout will feature a par-72, 5,825-yard course, with the women teeing off at the 10th hole, Monday at 8:30 a.m.

Kate Hill fired a two-day 6-over-par 150 to lead AU to last year's title by one stroke over Lincoln Memorial, marking the first time in program history that the Trojans took home the championship hardware. Last year marked the second-straight runner-up finish by the Lady Railsplitters.

AU finished second in 2015, which was previously their highest finish since placing third in both 2010 and 2011. AU finished fifth in both 2013 and 2014, after placing fourth in 2012. Erskine claimed back-to-back team titles in 2013 and 2014, while Flagler earned the team title in 2012.

LMU's Dominika Czudkova led last year's two-day event wire-to-wire, while holding off Hill by a single stroke. Hill challenged for individual medalist honors, but was unable to overcome Czudkova's two-stroke lead heading into the final round. LMU's Lise Malherbe finished third after posting a two-day 158 a year ago.

Tiffany Elam finished in a tie for fifth, with Anna Freeman sharing seventh place. Samantha Ellison finished alone in 10th place following a two-round 167, while Makalyn Poole, who claimed the individual title in 2015, finished 17th. Blake Hodges rounded out the Trojan contingent in a tie for 21st.