Trojan Men’s and Women’s Golf Set to Host AU Invitational

Trojan Men’s and Women’s Golf Set to Host AU Invitational

ANDERSON, S.C. – The Anderson University men's and women's golf teams are set to host the AU Invitational, Monday and Tuesday at Cobb's Glen Country Club in Anderson, S.C.

After being postponed a week due to the effects of Hurricane Irma, the men's tournament will feature the host Trojans along with Bob Jones University, Brevard, Emmanuel, Spartanburg Methodist, Erskine and Georgia Southwestern rounding out the seven-team field. The course will consist of a par-72, 6,961-yard layout, with the men teeing off at the first hole, Monday at 8:30 a.m.

Tuesday's final round will have a shotgun start.

The Trojan men finished fourth last year after winning the 2015 AU Invitational by four shots over Lenoir-Rhyne. With that win, the Trojans became the first Black and Gold squad to capture the AU Invitational team title since former standout and current AU assistant coach Denton Moore led AU to the 2003 title. AU claimed seventh place three years ago and ninth in 2013.

Catawba claimed the 2016 team title by four shots over Southern Wesleyan, while Bob Jones University finished in third place. Belmont Abbey (B) was three strokes further back of the Trojans, with Erskine claiming sixth place. Spartanburg Methodist, Emmanuel, Mars Hill and Belmont Abbey (C) rounded out the 10-team field.

Catawba's Mac Shepphard slipped eight shots from his first-round effort, but held off Belmont Abbey's Jacob Scruggs to win individual honors by one stroke a year ago.

Last year, Grayson Bell paced the Trojans with a two-day 3-over-par 147 and was named to the All-Tournament Team after leading the field with 10 birdies and tying for third place. David Monroe, who carded seven birdies, shared seventh place, while Jake Miller reached par on 24 holes to claim a tie for 25th. Weston Bell slashed 10 strokes off his first-round effort to share 27th place, with Drake McAlister also cutting his opening-round score by 10 shots and finishing in a tie for 33rd. Payton Whitlock finished in a tie for 38th. 

The women's four-team event will consist of the host Trojans alongside teams from Erskine, King, Lincoln Memorial and individuals from Emmanuel and Spartanburg Methodist. The ladies' layout will feature a par-72, 5,825-yard course, with the women teeing off at the 10th hole, Monday at 8:30 a.m.

Queens University of Charlotte led last year's tournament wire-to-wire and claimed the team title by a comfortable eight strokes over runner-up Lincoln Memorial. The Trojans claimed the third slot and Erskine finished 13 shots further back. Converse finished fifth, with Emmanuel taking sixth place. Catawba and North Greenville finished eighth and ninth, respectively,
The Trojan women finished second in 2015 - their highest finish since placing third in both 2010 and 2011. AU finished fifth in both 2013 and 2014, after placing fourth in 2012. Erskine claimed back-to-back team titles in 2013 and 2014, while Flagler earned the team title in 2012.

Queens' Natalie Pleyerova earned individual medalist honors by five strokes over Lincoln Memorial's Reagan Greene and six shots over the Railsplitter's Lise Malherbe a year ago.

Tiffany Elam led the Trojans last year with a two-day 13-over-par 157 and captured All-Tournament accolades after finishing fifth. After becoming the first Trojan to win the individual title two years ago, Makalyn Poole shared sixth place last year. Riley Lovorn finished in a tie for 15th, with Kate Hill sharing 17th-place. Junior Morgan Webb also shared 17th place, with Samantha Ellison finishing tied for 32nd and Blake Hodges finishing in 38th place.