Wednesday, August 20, 2014


ROCK HILL, S.C. – After starting in the backline for all 17 contests last season, Anderson University women’s soccer junior defender Faith Johannes was named to the 2014 South Atlantic Conference Women’s Soccer Preseason All-Conference Second Team, while the Trojans were picked to finish ninth in the league, announced by the conference office on Wednesday.

Johannes becomes the lone Trojan to be named to the first or second-teams, after the program landed two players (Krystal Goss and Kaitlyn Neipp) on the preseason first-team prior to the start of the 2013 season. After the 2013 campaign closed, three Anderson players earned postseason accolades, led by Johannes and Neipp’s second team honors.

In the annual preseason poll, the Trojans were picked ninth, matching the position AU fell to after the 2013 regular season. Wingate, last year’s SAC Tournament champion and Elite 8 finalist, finished with 117 points and earned the top spot in the annual poll with seven first-place votes.

Last year’s regular season champion Lenoir-Rhyne finished second in the rankings with four first-place votes and 110 points, while Lincoln Memorial earned the final first-place vote and 93 points, landing third.

Tar Heel State members Catawba and Queens followed with 83 and 73 points, respectively, while Tennessee schools Tusculum (77 points) and Carson-Newman (70) earned sixth and seventh, respectively. Newberry finished just ahead of the Trojans with 50 points, while Mars Hill (31), Coker (24) and Brevard (16) rounded out the poll.

Anderson kicks off the 2014 regular season at Trojan Stadium on Sept. 4 when it hosts Southern Wesleyan. Start time for that match is slated for 5 p.m.

2014 SAC Women’s Preseason Poll
1. Wingate (7)   117
2. Lenoir-Rhyne (4)  110
3. Lincoln Memorial (1) 93
4. Catawba   83
5. Queens   78
6. Tusculum   77
7. Carson-Newman  70
8. Newberry   50
9. Anderson   44
10. Mars Hill   31
11. Coker   24
12. Brevard   16

2014 SAC Women’s Soccer Preseason All-Conference Team

First Team
F - Jade Montgomery, Wingate
F - Garcelle Alequine, Lenoir-Rhyne
F - Leah Mullins, Lenoir-Rhyne
F - Mary Kirkman, Catawba
M - Gabriell Brodie, Newberry
M - Hanna Kiebel, Lenoir-Rhyne
M - Caitlyn Rodrigues, Queens
M - Emmi Dunn, Lenoir-Rhyne
D - Amber Madriaga, Lenoir-Rhyne
D - Brayden Miller, Newberry
D - Macy Franklin, Wingate
D - Ashley Osiecki, Queens
GK - Liz Morris, Coker

Second Team
F - Michelle Hunter, Lincoln Memorial
F - Breanna Naranjo, Newberry
F - Kelli Gottry, Queens
F - Brooke Howell, Wingate
M - Sophie Waller, Catawba
M - Kaitlyn Brunworth, Wingate
M - Olivia Thompson, Lincoln Memorial
M - Nikki Arthur, Tusculum
D - Faith Johannes, Anderson
D - Jordan Roy, Coker
D - Alex Hulsey, Catawba
D - Olivia Kilgore, Tusculum
GK - Ashlyn Hardie, Wingate