Tuesday, April 15, 2014


ROCK HILL, S.C. – With the 2014 Food Lions South Atlantic Conference Men’s Tennis Championships getting underway on Wednesday, the conference office has announced on Tuesday its annual postseason teams, as freshman Juan Carracedo headlines the Trojan lineup being named SAC Freshman of the Year and All-SAC First Team.

Carracedo is joined by three other Trojans who were honored by the league as Carracedo and Rivas were picked to the All-SAC Second Team Doubles list. Sophomore Tomas Passalacqua was named to the All-SAC Honorable Mention Singles list, while the sophomore tandem of Passalacqua and Inaki Iriberry were named to the All-SAC Honorable Mention Doubles squad.

Carracedo becomes the first Trojan in the history of the program to be named to the Freshman of the Year honor and the first Anderson player since 2012 to be named to the conference’s first team. For the year, the Buenos Aires, Argentina native finished the year with an 8-9 overall record, but a 7-4 mark in the conference, playing all his singles matches at the No. 1 position. The freshman highlighted his season with four straight SAC wins over conference opponents in a grueling five-match week earlier this season.

The first team All-SAC selection joins classmate Rivas on the All-SAC Second Team Doubles squad, as the tandem closed the regular season with a 6-9 overall record with a 6-3 SAC mark for the year. Entering the spring season regionally-ranked after an impressive fall campaign, the tandem grabbed key SAC wins over Newberry, Lincoln Memorial and Catawba while playing No. 1.

Passalacqua, who is in his first season with the Trojans, is the lone Anderson player to make the first-ever All-SAC Honorable Mention Singles Team. The Neuquen, Argentina native went 6-11 on the year with a 5-6 mark in SAC matches, while splitting time at No. 2 and No. 3. Passalacqua is joined by Iriberry to claim a position on the All-SAC Honorable Mention Doubles team as the duo finished the year 10-6 with a perfect 10-0 mark in conference matches.

Fifth-seeded Anderson begins its postseason on Wednesday when it takes on fourth-seeded Queens in the opening round of the SAC Tournament. First serve from the Rock Hill Tennis Center is scheduled for 1 p.m.

2014 SAC Men’s Tennis Awards

SAC Player of the Year: Lukas Winkelmann, Tusculum
SAC Freshman of the Year: Juan Carracedo, Anderson
SAC Coach of the Year: Michael Cabana, Wingate

All-SAC First Team Singles
Lukas Winkelmann, Tusculum
Andre Staab, Coker
Vinicius Botelho, Newberry
Nic Planchard, Tusculum
Tom Sizeland, Coker
Juan Carracedo, Anderson

All-SAC First Team Doubles
Lukas Winkelmann/Jonas Winkelmann, Tusculum
James Corfield/Andre Staab, Coker
Neal Towlson/Sebastian Hall, Wingate

All-SAC Second Team Singles
Per-Erik Soler, Queens
Jonas Winkelmann, Tusculum
Sebastian Hall, Wingate
Equerio Guerrero, Mars Hill
Filippo Pezzoli, Wingate
Robin Hochguertel, Lenoir-Rhyne

All-SAC Second Team Doubles
Juan Carracedo/Mateo Rivas, Anderson
Ryan Forbes/Connor Kudrick, Wingate
Per-Erik Soler/Jules Athalis, Queens

All-SAC Honorable Mention Singles
Connor Kudrick, Wingate
Juan Sebatian Perez, Carson-Newman
Tomas Passalacqua, Anderson
William Marrafao, Coker
Joao Pedro Oliveria, Carson-Newman
Fernando Espana, Newberry

All-SAC Honorable Mention Doubles
Robin Hochguertel/Hunter Pack, Lenoir-Rhyne
Andre Bafume/Ole-Jacob Meum, Queens
Inaki Iriberry/Tomas Passalacqua, Anderson