Wednesday, March 19, 2014


KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Anderson University men’s basketball guard Chandler Hash continues to add honors to his resume, as the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) has announced the 2014 NABC Coaches’ Division II All-District teams and coaches, recognizing the best men’s collegiate basketball student-athletes and coaches in the division.

Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC in NCAA Division II, these 88 student-athletes and eight coaches represent the finest basketball players and coaches across America. 

Joining Hash on the first team from the Southeast District were Vincent Bailey (Lincoln Memorial), Troran Brown (Montevallo), Evrik Gary (Francis Marion), Ishmael Hollis (North Georgia) and Ronald Zimmerman (USC Aiken).
Hash, a two-time First-Team All-South Atlantic Conference selection, also earned Daktronics First-Team All-Region accolades following the regular season. The left-handed sharpshooter led the conference in scoring at 24.3 points per game and currently ranks fifth in the nation in scoring average.

His school-record 778 total points this season leads NCAA Division II and marks the second-highest single-season total in league history. The SAC Tournament MVP closed his stellar three-year career with the Black and Gold in third place on Anderson’s all-time scoring list with 1,537 career points. Hash’s career-high 44-point outburst in the Trojans’ win over Coker in the 2014 Food Lion SAC Tournament ranks seventh in the league all-time for points scored in a single game.      
The Greer, S.C. native is a two-time recipient of the Men’s Basketball SAC Scholar-Athlete Award and off the court, Hash is a member of the AU Deans List and serves with numerous organizations, including Hospice House and Discipleship-Now. He has also given time as an elementary school speaker, youth clinic volunteer, church clothing drive organizer and an Anderson freshmen orientation leader. He was earlier named Capital One Second-Team Academic All-America.

First Team  Second Team
Adam Blazek, Gannon  Joe Bell, Mansfield  
Whis Grant, East Stroudsburg  Malachi Leonard, Seton Hill
Cedric Harris, West Liberty  Lamar Mallory, Glenville State
Wali Hepburn, Lock Haven  Brantley Osborne, Shepherd
Xavier Humphrey, Charleston  Marcel Souberbielle, IUP
Mark Thomas, Livingstone

Coach of the Year: Jeff Wilson, East Stroudsburg

First Team  Second Team
Austin Armga, Michigan Tech  Tim Dezelski, Hillsdale
Derek Billing, Lake Superior  Bryce Foster, Missouri S&T
Kameron Bundy, Drury  Ryan Jackson, Lewis
Mike Carlson, Truman  Keisten Jones, Bellarmine
Greg Kahlig, Findlay  Zygimantas Riauka, UWParkside
Aaron Nelson, Southern Indiana

Coach of the Year: Steve Hesser, Drury

First Team  Second Team
Rod Camphor, Southwestern Oklahoma State Marquis Addison, Mo. Southern
Deshaun Cooper, Northwest Missouri State Dillon Deck, Central Missouri
Josh Gibbs, Central Oklahoma  Bryton Hobbs, Northeastern St
Assem Marei, Minnesota State, Mankato Kellen Taylor, Winona State
Zach Monaghan, Minnesota State, Mankato Joey Woods, Upper Iowa
Craig Nicholson, Fort Hays State

Coach of the Year: Matt Margenthaler, Minnesota State, Mankato

First Team  Second Team
Eric Anderson, New Haven  Peter Alexis, Philadelphia
Ellis Cooper, Franklin Pierce  Darien Davis, Dowling
Garret Kerr, Sciences  Mike McCahey, St. Anselm
Greg Langston, Southern Connecticut John Petrucelli, Molloy
Dominykus Milka, St. Rose  Nick Smith, Dominican
Tylon Smith, Southern Connecticut

Coach of the Year: Mike Donnelly, Southern Connecticut

First Team  Second Team
Kevin Capers, Florida Southern  Yunio Barrueta, Barry
Trey Casey, Christian Brothers  Brandon Davey, Fort Valley
Rashaun Claiborne, North Alabama Jermaine Jackson, FIT
Jerrel Harris, Saint Leo  Nate Johnson, West Florida
Desmond Raymond, West Alabama Devin Schmidt, Delta State
Willie Readus, Delta State

Coach of the Year: Linc Darner, Florida Southern

First Team  Second Team
Vincent Bailey, Lincoln Memorial Antoine Davis, Carson Newman
Troran Brown, Montevallo  Chris Flemmings, Barton
Evrik Gary, Francis Marion  PJ Foster, Limestone
Chandler Hash, Anderson  KJ Sherrill, Georgia Regents
Ishmael Hollis, North Georgia  DeVontae Wright, USC Aiken
Ronald Zimmerman, USC Aiken

Coach of the Year: Vince Alexander, USC Aiken

South Central
First Team  Second Team
Chuck Guy, Tarleton State  Nicholas Kay, Metropolitan St
Alex Herrera, Fort Lewis  Jake Toupal, Arkansas, Ft Smith
Brandon Jefferson, Metropolitan State D’Andre Upchurch, Tarleton St
Mitch McCarron, Metropolitan State Trevor Wages, Col. Sch of Mines
Derrick White, Colorado, Colorado Springs Monzaigo Williams, Midwestern
Kenny Williams, Angelo State

Co-Coaches of the Year: Derrick Clark, Metropolitan State and Lonn Reisman, Tarleton State

First Team  Second Team
Ryan Berg, California Baptist  Kirby Gardner, San Bernardino
Austin Bragg, Western Washington Mark McLaughlin, Central Wash
David Downs, Seattle Pacific  Zach Robbins, Dixie State
Lacy Haddock, CSU San Bernardino DeRonn Scott, Cal Poly Pomona
Patrick Simon, Seattle Pacific  Travis Thompson, Alaska Anch
Richard Woodworth, Western Washington

Coach of the Year: Ryan Looney, Seattle Pacific
About the National Association of Basketball Coaches
Located in Kansas City, MO, the NABC was founded in 1927 by Forrest “Phog” Allen, the legendary basketball coach at the University of Kansas.  Allen, a student of James Naismith, the inventor of basketball, organized coaches into this collective group to serve as Guardians of the Game.  The NABC currently has nearly 5,000 members consisting primarily of university and college men’s basketball coaches.  All members of the NABC are expected to uphold the core values of being a Guardian of the Game by bringing attention to the positive aspects of the sport of basketball and the role coaches play in the academic and athletic lives of today’s student-athletes.  The four core values of being a Guardian of the Game are advocacy, leadership, service and education.  Additional information about the NABC, its programs and membership, can be found at