Photo Courtesy: Newberry Athletics
Photo Courtesy: Newberry Athletics

Wrestling Stumbles at Super Region 2 Duals

NEWBERRY, S.C. – Squaring off against the region’s top teams, Anderson University wrestling was unable to post a victory at the Super Region 2 Duals on Saturday afternoon at Eleazer Arena.

The Trojans began their day with a 41-6 setback to Findlay, before falling to Shippensburg (33-12), Tiffin (30-19) and nationally ranked Indianapolis (37-15).

“This was a grueling day of competition,” Anderson head coach Dock Kelly said. “Super Region 2 is loaded with unbelievable talented wrestlers. Today was a critical day for seeding purposes, and we just didn’t quite wrestle to our full capability. We have three critical region matches remaining that could very well shake up the seeding, so we will prepare for this last stretch run of our schedule.”

Sophomore Zak Hale led AU in victories on the afternoon, finishing the day 3-1, highlighted by a major decision win over Tiffin’s Kyle Ferguson. With his wins, Hale improves to 15-4 on the season, but snapped a 15-bout winning streak with his overtime setback to UIndy’s Justin Kieffer.

Zak Hale wrestled very well considering that he is on the descent down to 133,” Kelly said. “He was at a weight disadvantage, but he still held his own against a nationally ranked wrestler in Justin Kieffer.”

Following Hale was four Trojans with 2-2 records as Cory Monteforte (125), Keenan Simmons (133), Zane Newton (157) and Eric DeAngelis (184/197) each tallied points on the afternoon. Newton headlines the group as he improved his overall record to 13-7.

Anderson looks to get back in the win column on Thursday when it welcomes Coker to the Abney Athletic Center. First bout is set for 7 p.m.

Findlay 41, Anderson 6
Jan. 25, 2014 | Newberry, S.C. | Eleazer Arena
125: Ben Sergent (UF)dec. Cory Monteforte (AU), 4-2 (TB-1) (UF 3-0)
133: Jared Vancleet (UF) pinned Keenan Simmons (AU), 1:37 (UF 9-0)
141: Zak Hale (AU) dec. Nicholas Skonieczny (UF), 4-1 (UF 9-3)
149: Dalton Nicely (UF) won by forfeit (UF 15-3)
157: Jordan Cowell (UF) maj. dec. Zane Newton (AU), 10-1 (UF 19-3)
165: Brandley Metz (UF) maj. dec. Stephen Wylie (AU), 9-0 (UF 23-3)
174: Adam Walters (UF) pinned Ian Harper (AU), 0:39 (UF 29-3)
184: Eric DeAngelis (AU) dec. Alec Bissel (UF), 8-4 (UF 29-6)
197: Gerald Beck (UF) won by forfeit (UF 35-6)
285: Luke Fleming won by forfeit (UF 41-6)

Shippensburg 33, Anderson 12
Jan. 25, 2014 | Newberry, S.C. | Eleazer Arena
125: David Calambas (SHIP) pinned Cory Monteforte (AU), 4:35 (SHIP 6-0)
133: Chris Miller (SHIP) tech. fall Keenan Simmons (AU), 15-0 (SHIP 11-0)
141: Zak Hale (AU) dec. Karl Lightner (SHIP), 13-5 (SHIP 11-3)
149: Kyle Fellman (SHIP) won by forfeit (SHIP 17-3)
157: Zane Newton (AU) dec. Mark Lentz (SHIP), 1-0 (SHIP 17-6)
165: Stephen Wylie (AU) pinned Colton Rebert (SHIP), 5:00 (SHIP 17-12)
174: Brett Pastore (SHIP) maj. dec. Ian Harper (AU), 10-2 (SHIP 21-12)
184: Double Forfeit
197: Casey Hedash (SHIP) pinned Eric DeAngelis (AU) 2:42 (SHIP 27-12)
285: Jalal Paige won by forfeit (SHIP 33-12)

Tiffin 30, Anderson 19
Jan. 25, 2014 | Newberry, S.C. | Eleazer Arena
125: Cory Monteforte (AU) pinned Kyle Holliday (TIFFIN), 3:35 (AU 6-0)
133: Keenan Simmons (AU) dec. Adam Green (TIFFIN), 8-5 (AU 9-0)
141: Zak Hale (AU) maj. dec. Kyle Ferguson (TIFFIN), 15-4 (AU 13-0)
149: Samphanh Viengmany (TIFFIN) won by forfeit (AU 13-6)
157: Chase Boyd (TIFFIN) dec. Zane Newton (AU), 8-7 (AU 13-9)
165: Jared Chamber (TIFFIN) pinned Ian Harper (AU), 3:34 (TIFFIN 15-13)
174: Christopher Baker (TIFFIN) dec. Stephen Wylie (AU), 8-3 (TIFFIN 18-13)
184: Eric DeAngelis won by forfeit (AU 19-18)
197: Kaleb Matchett (TIFFIN) won by forfeit (TIFFIN 24-19)
285: Kevin Christman (TIFFIN) won by forfeit (TIFFIN 30-19)

Indianapolis 37, Anderson 15
Jan. 25, 2014 | Newberry, S.C. | Eleazer Arena
125: Keenan Simmons (AU) won by forfeit (AU 6-0)
133: Cory Monteforte (AU) won by forfeit (AU 12-0)
141: Justin Kieffer (UIndy) dec. Zak Hale (AU), 5-2 (SV-1) (AU 12-3)
149: Dylan Kavanaugh (UIndy) won by forfeit (AU 12-9)
157: Zane Newton (AU) dec. Barry McGinley (UIndy), 7-4 (AU 15-9)
165: Jeff Weiss (UIndy) inj. Stephen Wylie (AU), 2:00 (Tie 15-15)
174: Weston Davis (UIndy) maj. dec. Ian Harper (AU) 20-10 (UIndy 19-15)
184: Shelby Mappes (UIndy) pinned Eric DeAngelis (AU), 1:04 (UIndy 25-15)
197: Jared Boehm (UIndy) won by forfeit (UIndy 31-15)
285: Evan Wooding (UIndy) won by forfeit (UIndy 37-15)

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share

Upcoming Events

Full Calendar
DateSport OpponentLocation TimeCoverage
Date Sport Opponent Location Time Coverage

No events are on the calendar for this sport for the next 30 days (7/29-8/28).

Date Sport Opponent Location Time Coverage

Athletic Sponsors