Eskew Named Conference Women's Golf Freshman of the Year

ROCK HILL, S.C. – Anderson University’s Katie Eskew has been named the South Atlantic Conference women’s golf Freshman of the Year, as announced by the league office early Friday afternoon.   

The native of Powdersville, S.C., led Anderson with an 82.1 stroke average, including one top-five finish and a pair of top-ten finishes. Her fourth-place effort versus Erskine two weeks ago helped the Trojans rally past the Flying Fleet.

“I am excited for Katie being named SAC Freshman of the Year,” said Anderson head coach Danny Neal. “It is a testament to her ability and consistency which she demonstrated all year. Katie handled the pressure of playing number one as a freshman with determination and never backed down from the challenge. I appreciate the conference honoring her in this way and know that they could not have chosen a more deserving young lady.”

Newberry College’s Matthew Campbell, who averaged 72.2 strokes per round and shot a season-low 68 on three separate occasions, was named the 2010-11 South Atlantic  Conference Men’s Golfer of the Year, while Carson-Newman College’s Jessica Tarbet, who led the conference with a 77.4 stroke average, was named the Women’s Golfer of the Year.

The 2011 Food Lion South Atlantic Conference men’s and women’s golf championships begin Monday at Rock Barn Golf and Spa in Conover, N.C. The awards will be presented following Tuesday’s final round.

Campbell shot a season-low 68 on three separate occasions. He won the Honda of Columbia Fall Classic, and finished second at the Rutgers Invitational.

Tarbet had four top-five finishes and was the medalist at the Agnes McAmis Memorial tournament.

Newberry head men’s coach Brian McCants, who guided the Wolves to four tournament championships and four other top-five finishes, was named Men’s Coach of the Year. He wins this award for the fourth year in a row.

Newberry head women’s coach Lauren McCants, who guided the Wolves to six top-three finishes in the eight tournaments they competed in, was named Women’s Coach of the Year. She wins this award for the second year in a row.

Carson-Newman College’s Jonathan Kim-Moss was named the men’s Freshman of the Year. In his first collegiate season, Kim-Moss had a 75.7 stroke average. He shot a season-best 69 and finished 13th overall at the Bearcat Golf Classic.

Newberry College’s Ben Lown was named the men’s golf Scholar-Athlete, while Lincoln Memorial’s Kirsten Wolff was selected the women’s golf Scholar-Athlete for the second year in a row. The Scholar-Athlete award is selected by the SAC’s Faculty Athletic Representative committee.

Joining Campbell on the men’s golf All-Conference first team are: Liam Ashby and Gavin Hay from Carson-Newman, and Lown and Daniel Stanley from Newberry.

The men’s golf All-Conference second team consists of: Evan Kilchenstein from Catawba; Brandon Squier from Lenoir-Rhyne; Eric Kennedy and Jamie Chapman from Lincoln Memorial, and Nick York from Tusculum.

Joining Tarbet on the women’s golf All-Conference first team are: Maria Luz Besio, Barbara Castro and Julia Daneshfar from Newberry, and Ashley Denton from Wingate.
The women’s golf All-Conference second team consists of Erica Ray from Carson-Newman, Katie Thackerson and Brenna Martens from Lenoir-Rhyne, Brittany McCown from Lincoln Memorial, and Natalia Perez from Newberry.

The golf All-Conference awards are determined by head-to-head rankings as determined by Golfstat, Inc.

Wolff is a senior with a 3.612 GPA, with a double major in kinesiology and business management. She has been a member of the golf team for four years, earning the team’s freshman of the year award in 2008, the coach’s award in 2009, and the best all-around award in 2010. This year, she has averaged 83.8 strokes per round with five top-20 finishes.

Wolff is very active as a campus leader. As the women’s golf representative for the campus Student-Athlete Advisory Council, she has been instrumental in fund-raising operations for Make-A-Wish, Breast Cancer Awareness, and Haiti and Japan relief programs. She has participated in community service projects, including visiting nursing homes and hosting local retirees at athletic events. She also shops with area underprivileged children at Christmas time, and reads to children at local grade schools. She also has volunteered at an area food mission.

Lown is a senior majoring in business administration, and has a 3.5 GPA. Last year, he was named to the Golf Coaches Association of America All-America Scholar team.

He is a three-time first-team All-Conference selection, and was the SAC Freshman of the Year in 2008. He set the conference tournament record of 8-under par that year as a freshman. During his career, he has won three tournaments, including the 2008 SAC Championship, and has helped Newberry to three consecutive NCAA Division II Super Regional Tournaments and one trip to the national championship.

Lown has participated in reading programs at a local elementary school, as well as church-sponsored program to help weatherize and repair homes. He has also volunteered with Halloween Haunted Hoops and Operation Christmas Child projects through the Newberry Student-Athlete Advisory Council.

The 2011 men’s and women’s tournament begins Monday at Rock Barn Golf and Spa in Conover, N.C. Rock Barn is home to the Greater Hickory Classic PGA Champions Tour event. The men will play on the Jones course, while the women will play the Jackson course. Tee times begin at 8 a.m. Monday’s competition consists of 36 holes, with the final 18 holes on Tuesday.

The South Atlantic Conference will provide live updated scoring for the men’s and women’s golf championships. Live scoring will be available on the Golfstat website

Men’s All-Conference
First Team
Liam Ashby, Carson-Newman 
Gavin Hay, Carson-Newman 
Matthew Campbell, Newberry 
Ben Lown, Newberry 
Daniel Stanley, Newberry

Second Team
Evan Kilchenstein, Catawba
Brandon Squier, Lenoir-Rhyne
Eric Kennedy, Lincoln Memorial
Jamie Chapman, Lincoln Memorial
Nick York, Tusculum

Player of the Year: Matthew Campbell, Newberry

Freshman of the Year: Jonathan Kim-Moss, Carson-Newman

Coach of the Year: Brian McCants, Newberry

Scholar-Athlete: Ben Lown, Newberry

Women’s All-Conference
First Team
Jessica Tarbet, Carson-Newman
Maria Luz Besio, Newberry
Barbara Castro, Newberry
Julia Daneshfar, Newberry
Ashley Denton, Wingate

Second Team
Erica Ray, Carson-Newman
Katie Thackerson, Lenoir-Rhyne
Brenna Martens, Lenoir-Rhyne
Brittany McCown, Lincoln Memorial
Natalia Perez, Newberry

Player of the Year: Jessica Tarbet, Carson-Newman

Freshman of the Year: Katie Eskew, Anderson

Coach of the Year: Lauren McCants, Newberry

Scholar-Athlete: Kirsten Wolff, Lincoln Memorial

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share

Upcoming Events

Full Calendar
DateSport OpponentLocation TimeCoverage
Date Sport Opponent Location Time Coverage

No events are on the calendar for this sport for the next 30 days (7/28-8/27).

Date Sport Opponent Location Time Coverage

Athletic Sponsors