AU Women Rally To Take Title

ANDERSON, S.C. -- The Anderson University women's golf team rallied from a four-shot deficit then won a playoff on the first hole to take the 2008 Anderson University Invitational title at the Brookstone Meadows Country Club Tuesday afternoon. Tied after 36 holes with Mount Olive at 673, Anderson played the first playoff hole 2-under as a team to win the team title. Anderson used balance in the final round on the par-72, 6,116-yard Brookstone course to tie first-round leader Mount Olive. Sophie Dembroski shot 82, while Anna Jenks, Laura Buyers, and Hayley Parks all shot 83. Dembroski and Jenks provided the winning birdies on the playoff hole. Tusculum was third in the seven-team field at 679, and Lincoln Memorial was fourth at 680. Valentina Urquiola of Mount Olive (82-76) won the individual title. Mary Ann Vizcarrondo of Tusculum (85-74) was second, and Tegan Skirpstas of Mount Olive (85-78) was third. Rounding out the All-Tournament team were Kirsten Wolff of Lincoln Memorial (83-82) and Jenks (83-83). Anderson University Women's Invitational Final Results
Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share

Upcoming Events

Full Calendar
DateSport OpponentLocation TimeCoverage
Date Sport Opponent Location Time Coverage

No events are on the calendar for this sport for the next 30 days (7/23-8/22).

Date Sport Opponent Location Time Coverage

Athletic Sponsors